Lewes History Group Meetings 2011

Monday 10 January Debby Matthews A Tour Around Gideon Mantell’s Lewes
Monday 21 February John Kay Settlement Records in Lewes Parish Chests [doc]
Presentation  slides [ppt]
Monday 14 March Members’ presentations:
1. Peter Atkins;
2. Ann Holmes;
3. Paul Myles
Short talks about members’ research projects:
1. Lewes at the Old Bailey;
2. All change or more of the same? Life for the paupers of Lewes after the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834;
3. The Sussex Weekly Advertiser & Lewes Journal digitisation project
Monday 11 April Kim Clark Lost Lewes: Photographs of James Cheetham
Monday 9 May Michael Chartier Mayors of Lewes
Monday 13 June Diana Crook A Box of Toys: a Lewes Anthology
Monday 11 July Sarah Hitchings & Joy Preston U3A Oral History Collection [Powerpoint with audio]
Monday 8 August No meeting
Monday 12 September Nigel Jones ‘The Tower of London: Crucible of a Nation’ – a new book by a Lewes author
Monday 10 October David Goldsmith The 1836 Lewes Avalanche
Monday 14 November John Kay John Whitfeld the Smuggler and his Lewes “Club”
Monday 12 December Christmas Meeting:
1. Ian McClelland;
2. Paul Myles
Short talks about members’ research projects:
1. Impact of the Railway on Lewes;
2. Film: Rodin in Lewes – ‘The Kiss Comes Home’

Lewes History Group Meetings 2010, 2009

Advertisements