Marcus Taylor: Gundrada’s Chapel in Southover Church
The discovery of the remains of Lewes Priory’s founders, Gundrada and William de Warenne, by railway workers in 1845 had two tangible results: the forming of the Sussex Archaeological Society and the building of a Romanesque chapel in their memory attached to Southover Church.
Only 11 feet square, but packed with history and architectural detail, it is only occasional open to the public. Marcus Taylor, the chapel’s custodian, will explain the background and show this unique Victorian tribute in stone.
Judy Mackerras: The Turkish Baths
Over its life the building has gone from baths to printing press to design and photographic studio and back to printers: Judy Mackerras reveals the many manifestations of a much-loved local landmark.
John Downie: Lewes Clocks
We have some wonderful turret clocks in Lewes, in various states of repair and operation. A pictorial stroll through our town can take us from working 16th century mechanical clocks to the present day electric movements.
All are welcome from 7.00pm for free refreshments and updates on the Group’s activities. The talk will begin promptly at 7:30pm and will finish by 9.00pm.
There is an entry fee for these meetings, payable at the door, of £1 for members, and £3 for non-members.
Venue: The King’s Church building on Brooks Road, Lewes, BN7 2BY. (Between Tesco car park and Homebase)
See the Meetings page for a list of forthcoming monthly talks organised by the Lewes History Group.